Embracing the Unknown Part 1

I know you have been waiting patiently for this post, and I appreciate that.
I have been waiting (less patiently) to post it and now that everything is official I can finally spill…

So trust me,
& jump already.


I tell other people that all the time. Just do it.
Whatever it is you’re debating on, JUST DO IT!

Whether it is a new fitness class, a new food, a certification, moving somewhere new, or a new career path, just do it.
Follow your heart.

You will never know until you try.

But it takes a lot of courage to jump.
And it’s much easier to give that advice than to implement it yourself.

But I know that my life will unfold in proportion to my courage.
And I know that I would rather jump and learn to fly on the way down than stand on the edge wishing I had the courage to take that next big step.

So a few weeks ago I decided to swallow my fear (literally because I got that horrible bump in your throat you get before doing something crazy) and ask for what I wanted. I leaned in.

I took a leap of faith and I jumped, HARD.

And guess what?  This time it paid off, and I couldn’t be happier.


Do you feel the suspense yet?? 😉


Backstory:

I have been working at a law firm in Omaha for a few years now.  I have had a wide variety of positions (anywhere from records clerk, to receptionist, to audit technician, to legal document assistant).  Some I hated, but the most recent one I honestly don’t mind.  It obviously isn’t my calling in life, but I work with a wonderful group of people that have taken me under their wings to teach me more than I could have ever imagined.  I would even like to go as far as to call myself a “Word Ninja” (Microsoft program) thanks to my co-worker, but I don’t think I’m at that level…yet.

But I have made it clear that my heart and soul are in fitness and nutrition.

It isn’t a secret.  When you truly find your calling in this world I don’t think you should hide it away and be ashamed.  I have been made fun of, called names, and told I’m too fat to be a trainer (people are so nice).  On the other hand I have been quizzed, tested, and thanked from those out there who appreciate what I do.

And this jump is for those people.  This jump is to hoping I find more people like those who have allowed me in to help.


Current Story:

When a friend of mine told me “You should apply for this fitness position my company has open!” I was hesitant.  My latest trial with a fitness company has left me LESS than pleased to put it nicely.

But I figured it wouldn’t hurt to apply.

It took a little while for them to get back to me, and I had what felt like 4,986,532,372 interviews (ok, it was really like 5, but who’s counting??) and immense amounts of stress.
(If I had only applied “because it wouldn’t hurt” then WHY was I so invested?)

The more I learned about the company the more I loved the idea of the job.

This is a huge company with a FANTASTIC health and wellness program.  THAT PEOPLE ACTUALLY USE!  From what I understand, it is wildly successful.

I proposed something similar to the law firm I currently work at but was shot down (now on multiple occasions).  I was told they didn’t see their health and wellness working the same way I did.

No worries, it was only a suggestion.  But given the opportunity to do exactly what I proposed?  Oh ya, I’m gone.

Kind of?

So the draw back of this (hopefully) amazing opportunity is that it’s an internship.

This internship is a temporary (paid) job and in the past it has mostly been filled by college students.  They made it clear there is no concrete position at the end of this tunnel.  They will simply teach me everything I want to learn and help me find a wonderful job afterwards.

Still not a bad gig, right?

Since it is an internship position it is only for a maximum of 30 hours a week, and I would take a significant pay cut to work there.

But can you really put a dollar amount on experience?  Especially from a great company and a person who is willing to teach you “anything and everything you want to know”?

I don’t think so.  (My finance minded husband would disagree.  But you know what they say about opinions: they are like assholes.  Everyone has them but nobody wants to hear about them.  Kidding honey, I love you AND your input. 😉 )

This would leave me with a huge pay cut and about 10 extra hours of time to fill.

I contemplated using that time to better this blog and be more active, but I am, after all, married to that finance minded cutie mentioned above, and he made a good point as far as our finances go.  So I decided to ask my current job to put me part time.  I honestly didn’t think they would negotiate at all but my mom talked me into asking (and after all, moms do know everything).

This was my first jump.  They said yes!
(This is like getting married, only better because wedding planning is like taking an extended trip to hell that costs all the money you can imagine and then your right arm. #tellmehowyoureallyfeel)

I was shocked (and still am).  This was the best case scenario!

I would obviously still take a hit, but keeping 15 hours in my current position (at the rate I’m used to being paid) lifts a big weight off our shoulders as far as finances are concerned.  So…

I ACCEPTED THE POSITION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*insert roughly a bajillion excited emojis here*

I start on January 25th with my new schedule.

Now I am just getting everything ready in my current position to go part time and making sure I am prepared for my new almost-full-time fitness position.

Translation: I’m just taking this opportunity to buy as many workout clothes as I can shove into the budget. #whatbudget?


So jump.  You never know what could happen.
Worst case scenario: Jumping gets you some killer legs.


Did anyone else notice the “Part 1”?  Oh ya, that’s because I have more big news coming.
HUGE actually, but you know…all good things with time. 😉

Stay with me here, the best is yet to come.

Peace, Doughnuts & Jumping,
-Sam

4 thoughts on “Embracing the Unknown Part 1

  1. “All good things, all good things” ☃👸🏼frozen!! Hahahaha 😂 Seriously, I’m a child. I LOVE this and I LOVE you and your courage to LIVE!!! Your obviously the one leaping but I’m jumping for joy for you not too far away! Love you!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

